Fall

Image of Dead Flower from freeimages.com titled, "Fall Time Rose"

Image of Dead Flower from freeimages.com titled, “Fall Time Rose”

Fall,

The time when love crumbles like the cheese
On an acne riddled teenager
Love fades like my first crush died
After all, he never new my name
Brittle leaves scuttle in the wind
And shatter like glass
As my foot walks over it,
All I can think is:
My love has left me to return to his wife
While he did this,
He stole the light from our home
My warmth and shelter has left me,
And the fire inside of me died
I’ve fallen
And I’ve let the colourful leaves surround me
They stab into me with their sharp blades
And the broken bark clings to me
As if I could make its life last longer
I am lost here,
And I let the earth fall into me
It covers me like a blanket covers a frightened child
Again, my love has left me;
What more can I do?
I am convinced that this is it
There’s nothing left,
But, my daughter comes to me
And sings me a song
And then I remember what it is I should be living for.

GAM

Leave a Reply

