EX-Named

I was at my sister’s house, but she isn’t really my sister. She is the second daughter of the man who adopted me and she is from his first marriage. I was adopted by him and his second wife, so we are not related in any way except through the legal system. I was in her house, and I have not been there for years because we have not spoken in years. None the less, I was walking through the entryway and went directly to the back porch, which I would have done normally. Once I got back there, I noticed several changes, such as a roof on the patio that had not been there before. It was almost closed up, and I didn’t like the claustrophobic feeling. Then I noticed that people from my past were there such as my ex husband and a friend from my high school. In real life, none of these people had met any of the others. I left the patio and came inside the house, and went directly into the garage but my ex familiars had followed me in there too. I left the garage and was heading into the spare bedroom in order to be alone when I encountered my Russian brother. He was adopted a couple years after I was and by the same couple. Since I am from Romania and was very young when I came to the US, and my brother was much older, we didn’t get to know each other very well. He is 6 years older than me and only lived in the same house as me for 3 years before he turned 18 and moved out on his own. He stopped me in the hall and berated me about my legal name change. I had taken my Romanian name back and he didn’t like it. He kept telling me that my Romanian name is not my name! He said that the name the people who adopted us had changed my name to was my real name. He stated that he would only call me by what he knew me to be, and refused to acknowledge my coming home to self. I started to scream at him for not accepting me, and then I woke up from my dream.

GAM

 

Leave a Reply

